Alamaze & Fall of Rome Forum
#300 - Experimental - Printable Version

+- Alamaze & Fall of Rome Forum (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum)
+-- Forum: ALAMAZE (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Forum: Active Games (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: #300 - Experimental (/showthread.php?tid=9626)



RE: #300 - Experimental - unclemike - 12-25-2014

You can always try to steal an artifact from the "wild" (unresolved encounter) if you don't want to risk any more of your leaders/wizards. You just need to know the artifact's shortname and its location on the map and be within 10 areas away. You even get a different message displayed on your report since you're stealing from, "a lair of an unknown monster".

Though stealing from the wild is tougher to do and is further scaled based upon artifact difficulty level (so Easy artifacts are easier to steal than Medium artifacts). There may be other restrictions as well. You can't steal a Free artifact (like Eklar the Wizard though that may be funny) and you can't steal a Quest artifact (like Ring of Power) even if your agent has the corresponding Key but nearly everything else is stealable.

There are also additional restrictions for some items like Alignment or Race that have to be considered as well. Like how the Last Herd of Winged Stallions is only available for Good kingdoms. If you're not a Good kingdom, you cannot acquire the Pegasi by stealing, trading, encounter resolution, or conquest of another group/pop center (if the pc had possession of the Pegasi). Race conditions are kingdom specific and may deny access to a certain artifact as well (as how dragon kingdoms are not allowed to acquire the Pegasi due to their race).

So I just want to point out that if you're having problems resolving encounters with your group's leaders/wizards, you can always try to steal the artifact instead...


RE: #300 - Experimental - unclemike - 12-25-2014

I had some time to enhance artifacts that grant the power of flight. There are two artifacts in the game that bestow the flying ability:

Last Herd of the Winged Stallions
Great Red Bats of the Lost Caves

If your group meets the artifact's number of brigade limitation (currently 5 brigades or less for both artifacts) then your group is considered to be flying at all times. The software checks various points in the game if your group gains/loses brigades to activate/disable flight for your group. The code checks after every battle result, reorganization for attrition, reinforcements, recruiting, kingdom special recruiting (order 565, 563 for Demon Princes skeletons, 566 for Black Dragon phoenix brigades), sea patrol losses (you lose brigades if you lose enough of fleets), and wizard summon (undead troops) spells. Even the wizard death spell (lose 2-4 brigades) is checked if your group now contains 5 or less brigades in order to activate the flight ability.

So for one battle you may not have the flight ability but due to losing brigades from combat, you may gain flight for the next battle. Flying at all times carries some advantages and disadvantages in the game:

Advantages:
(1) group is immune to Earthquake damage (spell 105)
(2) group is immune to Wall of Fire damage (spell 98)
(3) group may move up to the artifact's flight range (currently 7 areas) without regard to terrain movement cost
(4) traveling through Dimensional Portals (via order #726) no longer halts movement at the exit portal if it's in water (so if you issue order 726 and have enough movement pts leftover to move past the exit portal that's in water, you may continue flying up to your allotted movement even though you're using the portal's order 726 to move and not the flying artifact's order 727 [much like how dragon kingdoms may fly past a water destination portal], c.f. my post regarding portals earlier in this thread if you need to)

Disadvantages:
(1) cannot end movement on water
(2) cannot use sea movement orders (710, 715) as long as the group has a flying artifact in its possession (if you need to move a group to a water location then transfer the flying artifact elsewhere in your kingdom)
(3) cannot use sea search order (725) much like how the dragon kingdoms cannot use sea movement/sea search orders due to their flying ability that cannot land on water
(4) if your group acquires the ability to move across water despite the above due to some future ability or spell then your group cannot move across water if the Storm at Sea spell (660) is active in that sea (much like how the dragon kingdoms cannot fly across water if a Storm at Sea is active due to the spell's hurricane-like force winds)
(5) travel with a flying artifact won't display the locations of pc's being past over between your current and destination locations since the flying artifact in this regard acts more like a teleport rather than an area-by-area movement sequence (which is why order 727 only allows you to specify a single destination area rather than a full sequence of movement areas to reach your destination)

So there's some advantages and disadvantages in granting your group the power of flight. In addition, both of these artifacts happen to have further restrictions regarding Alignment and Race. Pegasi are Good so only the Good kingdoms may use them and Red Bats are Evil.

Good kingdoms:
Elf
Halfling
Paladin
Westmen

Evil kingdoms:
Demon Princes
Swampmen
Underworld
Urik
Witchlord

As Ry Vor mentioned earlier, there's a lot going on behind the scenes even for something as simple as a flying artifact. Have fun!!!


RE: #300 - Experimental - Jumpingfist - 12-25-2014

For flying and wall of fire would you just ignor wall of fire? Meaning if you attack on a 2 or 1 with a flying unit and someone issues wall of fire would you continue your attack because the wall of fire has no effect on you?


RE: #300 - Experimental - unclemike - 12-25-2014

(12-25-2014, 10:35 AM)Jumpingfist Wrote: For flying and wall of fire would you just ignor wall of fire?   Meaning if you attack on a 2 or 1 with a flying unit and someone issues wall of fire would you continue your attack because the wall of fire has no effect on you?

A group or kingdom with the flying ability takes no damage from a wall of fire nor are they prevented from combat on a TAC of 1 or 2. Only ground based troops are affected by a wall of fire, not flyers.


RE: #300 - Experimental - Hawk_ - 12-25-2014

(12-25-2014, 10:39 AM)unclemike Wrote:
(12-25-2014, 10:35 AM)Jumpingfist Wrote: For flying and wall of fire would you just ignor wall of fire?   Meaning if you attack on a 2 or 1 with a flying unit and someone issues wall of fire would you continue your attack because the wall of fire has no effect on you?

A group or kingdom with the flying ability takes no damage from a wall of fire nor are they prevented from combat on a TAC of 1 or 2. Only ground based troops are affected by a wall of fire, not flyers.
Are giants allowed on the winged stallions?


RE: #300 - Experimental - Madmardigan - 12-25-2014

Mike, 
I understand the limitations in regards to using the items, but perhaps the rules could be loosened governing acquiring and moving artifacts. As the RD, I would like to possess the dragonslayer only to keep it from others.  The same could go with the bats or stallions. The RD may not be able to use them, but why not have the ability to control their use or at least trade them away to an ally perhaps.  Better yet, isn't there a way to destroy artifacts ??? 


RE: #300 - Experimental - Madmardigan - 12-25-2014

(12-24-2014, 12:24 AM)IsBeatific Wrote:
(12-23-2014, 03:40 PM)kevindusi Wrote:
(12-23-2014, 03:03 PM)Madmardigan Wrote: Sweet.

Crummy lives?  Psssh

The Paladins will be going in this turn without any recons and our necks fully exposed (order 3 i think).

Anyone know where I can find a halfling with a siege engine?

It's in my pants.

PA got some tweezers?  Good luck with that...........and your encounter.

Hah
Our wizards have just created a new artifact for that.  'The Tweezers of ever finding'


RE: #300 - Experimental - Madmardigan - 12-25-2014

(12-25-2014, 10:03 AM)unclemike Wrote: I had some time to enhance artifacts that grant the power of flight. There are two artifacts in the game that bestow the flying ability:

Last Herd of the Winged Stallions
Great Red Bats of the Lost Caves

If your group meets the artifact's number of brigade limitation (currently 5 brigades or less for both artifacts) then your group is considered to be flying at all times. The software checks various points in the game if your group gains/loses brigades to activate/disable flight for your group. The code checks after every battle result, reorganization for attrition, reinforcements, recruiting, kingdom special recruiting (order 565, 563 for Demon Princes skeletons, 566 for Black Dragon phoenix brigades), sea patrol losses (you lose brigades if you lose enough of fleets), and wizard summon (undead troops) spells. Even the wizard death spell (lose 2-4 brigades) is checked if your group now contains 5 or less brigades in order to activate the flight ability.

So for one battle you may not have the flight ability but due to losing brigades from combat, you may gain flight for the next battle. Flying at all times carries some advantages and disadvantages in the game:

Advantages:
(1) group is immune to Earthquake damage (spell 105)
(2) group is immune to Wall of Fire damage (spell 98)
(3) group may move up to the artifact's flight range (currently 7 areas) without regard to terrain movement cost
(4) traveling through Dimensional Portals (via order #726) no longer halts movement at the exit portal if it's in water (so if you issue order 726 and have enough movement pts leftover to move past the exit portal that's in water, you may continue flying up to your allotted movement even though you're using the portal's order 726 to move and not the flying artifact's order 727 [much like how dragon kingdoms may fly past a water destination portal], c.f. my post regarding portals earlier in this thread if you need to)

Disadvantages:
(1) cannot end movement on water
(2) cannot use sea movement orders (710, 715) as long as the group has a flying artifact in its possession (if you need to move a group to a water location then transfer the flying artifact elsewhere in your kingdom)
(3) cannot use sea search order (725) much like how the dragon kingdoms cannot use sea movement/sea search orders due to their flying ability that cannot land on water
(4) if your group acquires the ability to move across water despite the above due to some future ability or spell then your group cannot move across water if the Storm at Sea spell (660) is active in that sea (much like how the dragon kingdoms cannot fly across water if a Storm at Sea is active due to the spell's hurricane-like force winds)
(5) travel with a flying artifact won't display the locations of pc's being past over between your current and destination locations since the flying artifact in this regard acts more like a teleport rather than an area-by-area movement sequence (which is why order 727 only allows you to specify a single destination area rather than a full sequence of movement areas to reach your destination)

So there's some advantages and disadvantages in granting your group the power of flight. In addition, both of these artifacts happen to have further restrictions regarding Alignment and Race. Pegasi are Good so only the Good kingdoms may use them and Red Bats are Evil.

Good kingdoms:
Elf
Halfling
Paladin
Westmen

Evil kingdoms:
Demon Princes
Swampmen
Underworld
Urik
Witchlord

As Ry Vor mentioned earlier, there's a lot going on behind the scenes even for something as simple as a flying artifact. Have fun!!!

Mike, 
Are these advantages already active for the Rd and BL?


RE: #300 - Experimental - unclemike - 12-25-2014

To Hawk: Due to their size and weight, Giants are not permitted to use the two flying artifacts but a new artifact like Rocs (giant prehistoric birds) may be in the future.

To Madmardigan: The above benefits/limitations regarding flying (immune to earthquakes, walls of fire, and limits on sea travel) are already in place for the two dragon kingdoms and any group with a flying artifact. I'm still working on the other parts such as preventing trade between kingdoms if the other kingdom isn't of the proper alignment/race. The other rules should be in place around turn 11 or 12 if not earlier.

To Madmardigan: About permitting kingdoms to use artifacts that are not normally allowed (to facilitate trade or conquest of a group/pc), the code will prevent that from happening. Look at it like the Lord of the Rings scene at Rivendell where Grimly (dwarf) tried to destroy the Ring with his axe. His weapon bounced off and shattered. That rejection was due to the artifact's power and nature which prevents a non-aligned kingdom from attaining it.


RE: #300 - Experimental - unclemike - 12-25-2014

I posted the above to prevent getting a bunch of emails about artifacts but it didn't help Smile

Ry Vor is the one you should be sending suggestions on any changes for artifacts and their effects/behavior. I only mentioned the above (and Rocs) as a possibility for the future but everything is up to Ry Vor to decide on matters like these. I'm just the developer.